Our Last Goodbye

Say, do you remember?

The promises we made, under that oak tree? When I gave you that sunflower that matched well with the sundress you wore, one sunny afternoon? We said we’d give each other the world, a heart for a heart. It all seemed right.

How wrong we were.

Several summers have come and gone and your hand is no longer in mine. Yet, you never returned the heart I gave you, and neither did I return the heart you gave me.

So why did we part ways?

I honestly don’t know, but maybe it’s because you wanted the Sun, but the moon was all I had. Or maybe you loved the first rays of dawn but the last rays of dusk were what I could give. Or maybe you were a lily but my wish was for you to be a rose.

Maybe. We’ll only know maybes.

I’m sad to see you go, but my heart is rest assured that true happiness is what you’ll find at the end of whatever path you choose to follow. I also have faith that I’ll finally find that which I seek, and you will be but a fond memory that aches my heart no longer.

Goodbye my beloved friend.

2 thoughts on “Our Last Goodbye”

  1. Great items from you, man. I have take note your stuff previous
    to and you are just too magnificent. I actually like what you’ve got right
    here, certainly like what you’re saying and
    the way in which you say it. You’re making it entertaining
    and you still take care of to stay it sensible.
    I can not wait to read much more from you. That is actually a great web site.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment